Home

The writing element that can make an editor’s head spin the most is when an author confuses or mixes POV.
Screen Shot 2013-04-16 at 9.59.41 PMAttention authors! It happens more than you might think and it can derail your publication success.

Make sure your POV is leak free.

What is POV? Your narrative point of view is the perspective from which the narrator tells the story.
The easy part is determining whether a story is told in first person, second person or third person. The harder part is sticking to the principles of each POV, and following the rules of narrator insight.

I thought about writing a full article detailing the pros and cons of various POVs, but then I came across this video illustration which handles it beautifully. I wish I could wallpaper my office with it!

And for an excellent in-depth explanation of how and why each POV is used, check out this great chart.

2 thoughts on “Narrative Pain in the Arse (I mean POV)

  1. Funny you should mention this. The first of my books that I published had this problem. I started off the book in 1st person and by the third chapter it had gone to 2nd person. When I went back to read the first chapter for a forgotten characters name I realized what I’d done. Of course I rewrote the first chapter to go with the rest of the work. 🙂

  2. Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a
    new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.
    You have done a extraordinary job!

Leave a comment