248.spacemanIn 1977, NASA launched the two Voyager spacecraft into deep space in the hope that intelligent extraterrestrial life forms would find them. Artifacts onboard the spacecraft depict life on Earth, including a phonograph record, the Voyager Golden Record.

The record includes natural sounds (like thunder and wind), animal sounds, greetings spoken in 59 different languages and 27 pieces of music of all kinds. There’s only one composer who has more than one musical work on the record—Johann Sebastian Bach, of course. In fact, three of his compositions are on the Voyager Golden Record, including the first movement of the Brandenburg Concerto No. 2.

  If you’ve read Old Bach Is Come, you’ll appreciate why this is so significant. Get your copy on Amazon.

— Steve Schach, author



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s